Here we are.

I’m not counting on anyone ever finding this and reading it, but if that happens, here’s a bit of background.

I’ve been fat since Kindergarten. I graduated high school around 250. Started college three years later around 270 and gained ten pounds  freshman year and again during sophomore year.  My best friend, Brittani, asked me to be a vegetarian with her for 40 days, just to try it out. We both thought this would be a great way to lose weight. I didn’t weigh myself for the entire 40 days. I started off around 295. On day 40, I went upstairs to her bathroom and weighed myself.

348.

Three-hundred-forty-eight pounds.

I mean, I’ve flirted with the big 3 before but I’ve never actually went to bed with him until then. I couldn’t figure out how in the world that would happen. (She gained about 30lbs, too, but she was skinny to begin with.) We were vegetarians, for God’s sake. Then Brittani had an epiphany.

We lived on caramel sundaes, cheese pizza, and alfredo noodles.

I’ve spent the last year and a half recovering from this. I finally got myself back into the 290s the day after the Brittani died in a car accident, about six months after the end of our little experiment. After she died, I didn’t eat for about a week and spent just about every non-memorial service moment in my bed. I then ended up in the 280s. It wasn’t healthy and it didn’t stay off for long. Once I got back home (this all happened during finals week and the week after), I had to quit my job due to anxiety from the craziness I just experienced. I spent my entire summer sitting in the same chair I’m typing this from now, eating myself into a coma.

By the end of the summer, I was at 310 again. The next school year, I went from 310 to 290 to 301 to 288 back to 300. When I got home for the summer, I started Weight Watchers, where my starting weight was 303. I lost 3.8lbs in the first week (My mother lost 9. Bitch.) and it’s been a slow roll since then. In six weeks, I had only lost 8 pounds. I’m a big girl. I can do better.

That’s where this blog comes in. This is where I’m going to keep myself in line. If I know I have to report to something where anyone in the world can see it, I’m likely to do better. Again, I don’t know if anyone will ever even find this blog, but I’m determined to make this project last. I’ll be posting my weight, my struggles, my victories, and my attempts to stay healthy on a barista salary. My weigh in day on Weight Watchers is on Monday. I’ll be posting my results from that either Monday nights or Tuesday afternoons, depending on my work schedule.

So, here it is: my first weigh in post thing that all those nifty weight loss bloggers do:

Starting Weight: 303
Current Weight: 295.6
Total Loss: 7.4

Here goes nothing.

8 thoughts on “Here we are.

  1. Hey girl. Im here to support ya. I’ll be checkin in on ya. Im so proud of you to do this. And if you need any pointers ill be glad to help. I just put Josh on a diet. I wanted to get back to pre-pregnancy weight and Josh wanted to lose some. We did the eat-clean “diet” and I lost 12 lbs in about 2 months and Josh has lost 18 and counting… Its super easy!! The key is what you choose to eat (obviously right).. well your body burns certain foods easier than others. Also eating several small meals throughout the day will boost your metabolism. Anyway good luck girlie! Love you! OH What is your goal weight?

  2. I’m a guy, on the same boat. I’m really happy I stumbled upon your blog. I know how hard it is to loose weight and I really admire you for putting yourself out there and sharing the experience.

Leave a reply:

