Uncategorized

Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels? Day 34.

I first heard this on a pro-anorexia site way back when I first got the internet. I thought it was sad.

I heard it next at a Weight Watchers event, where the leader closed by saying, “Nothing tastes as good…” and the 80+ people in the room responded with, “as skinny feels!” I sat around and felt very uncomfortable.

I just ran into it yet again in the back of my 3-month tracker journal I got with my new PointsPlus kit. Now I’m pissed.

What is Weight Watchers thinking, exactly? This might be the only thing I’ve heard from them that I positively hate. I can’t get over it.

We’re not going to be automatically happy and feeling good when we’re skinny. I’m absolutely sickened that they try to make people think that they will be. I know some perfectly miserable skinny people. Maybe they should know this. I bet all of their food tastes horrible.

(Also, whoever came up with this saying has obviously never eaten an entire stromboli in one sitting. That tastes and feels better than absolutely anything.)

I’m fat and very happy. I’m downright jolly. I feel awesome even though I weigh nearly 300lbs. Fuck you, Weight Watchers, for trying to insinuate that I should feel differently.

3 thoughts on “Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels? Day 34.

  1. You are so right. Thin does not equal happy (or healthy), and it’s very disappointing to see WW adopting such a shallow cliche.

  2. I just found your blog via twitter today, and I have to agree with you 100%. They are supposed to be promoting a healthier lifestyle. Sure, a lot of us DO want to be “thin” or “thinner” but a mantra like that will promote starvation and anorexic tendencies more than it will healthy eating. I can honestly say I haven’t heard it at any meetings but I do have a 3 month tracker so I hope I don’t come across it. I guess everyone is different and while some people find it acceptable, there are people like us who have to grit our teeth and bear it. If you’re feeling brave maybe you could talk to your leader about why its not appropriate. Hope everything else on plan goes well for you!

    twitter.com/mukduk

  3. I can’t stand when people say that. I read through the materials, but somehow missed that WW is usually that officially now. I’m so disappointed in them.

Leave a reply:

