Uncategorized

Fat girl goes to the gym.

WHY DIDNT I THINK OF THIS

Yep. That was me today.

I finally got to the gym. I was supposed to go Wednesday, but my neck decided not to work for a few days. They even let me restart my free week since I couldn’t get there. Good people.

I thought I was going to be really intimidated. I had actually talked myself out of going earlier in the day. (I also took precisely 75 minutes to get to work when it normally takes me 20. I hate snow. I spent all 75 of those minutes figuring out how to move back south. If anyone has any ideas, let me know.) Truth be told, I only went because I was so freezing after running my cash box back to the office after my shift was over.

The girls at the reception desk were beyond friendly. One even gave me a tour since I didn’t get one when I signed up. I was really impressed.

I did the treadmill at 3.5 (When I first started working out, I couldn’t get past 1.5 without feeling like death. True story) for 15 minutes, twice. Between those, I did the elliptical for 15 minutes, this stepper thing of doom for 20 minutes, and half of the weight circuit.

I spent 85% of the weight circuit laughing at myself. I think I drew attention. All the old people there loved me. They’re right to do so. I’m quite lovable.

After that, I sat in my car with the windows down – getting snow in the face – for like 10 minutes and entered all of my workout to figure out how much I burned. I burned twice as much as I had ate today (Yogurt + Kashi), which is probably why I was a bit dizzy feeling when I was sitting in the car. Nothing too bad, honestly. I should probably rethink not-eating before I work out next time.

Anyway. Not once did I feel out of place or anything like I thought I would. It was a good day.

I’m excited for tomorrow. If it’s open. I’m excited for Monday at the least.

Also: Weigh in: 288. Down 3 pounds for the first week of the year. Not bad at all.

I’m using MyFitnessPalexclusively now. You should be my friend there. Sorry, SparkPeople.

10 thoughts on “Fat girl goes to the gym.

  1. Congrats! I love my gym. Sure it seemed like an akward place in the beggining, but it slowly grows into you. You get to recognize some faces, make new “gym buddies”, recognize the sounds of the different machines… and before you know it, it becomes “your” place. And then, you absolutely love it!

  2. I think more people should read this to be inspired to start exercising and realize how approachable it can be! I’m so proud of you, Sierra! You’re doing great! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks! I miss you. I was at the mall the other day and our little home is gone, but I’m pretty sure Abercrombie is still playing the same songs. haha. I was very homesick for you and Becki.

  3. Getting on the treadmill for the first time was like, pretty much the most overwhelming thing, ever. If you’re looking for a good pre-workout snack, I recommend the Trader Joe’s Fruit Leathers. They’re good for getting through a workout .

    1. I love the treadmill, especially if I get to watch trashy TV while I’m on it. I’m still terrified I’m going to fall off of it and the gym is going to replay my fall in slow-mo with bad sound effects for the rest of my life like on the Biggest Loser.

  4. I’m so glad that you handled the gym! I always find the most awkward part is just walking in…once I’m on a machine I get in a zone and don’t notice anybody. I also use MyFitnessPal (when I remember)…it’s pretty sweet πŸ™‚

  5. I recently joined the gym by my house, and still feel a bit like a doofus when the place is packed. But, with that sad, I love elliptical. I too got dizzy in my first work out and chalked it up to not drinking water through the whole thing. From one fatso looking to become more health to another….good luck sista!

Leave a reply:

