Uncategorized

30 Days of No Fast Food.

Day 3 of no make up/no hair stuff. Pale and shiny. It's how I roll.

Day 23.

Well, I did it. I went 30 days with no fast food. I weigh one more pound than I did when I started the 30 days, but I feel awesome and my skin looks pretty good, too.

My sister and I had big plans for tomorrow that involved a lot of Long John’s Silvers and maybe a taco or two. I had the realization last night that our party would have to wait an extra day — there are 31 days in March. She is very upset with this. On more than one occasion, I’ve had to drive her through the drive-thru and pretend to eat a nugget so she didn’t feel awkward eating without me.

I kind of don’t want to eat it even on Friday, though. I’m pretty content without it. Sure, I get a craving for the occasional hush puppy, but it’s not as bad as I thought it was. I think I’ve officially kicked my addiction to McNuggets. It’s been good.

I have a feeling, though, that if I don’t eat something with her at midnight on Friday that she may shove a McDouble down my throat. It won’t be pretty.

In other news,

Today at work, I read this article by John Robbins about America and obesity. The moral of the story is that our diets should be plant based (or at least the majority of it should be.)

He has a point.

Maybe that’ll be my next month-long experiment. Hopefully I won’t gain 30 pounds this time.

I’m currently watching Speed with my stepdad. This movie makes me so tense. It’s ridiculous. It’s pretty much the only non-Bill-and-Ted movie I will ever like Keanu in. Then again, that time he was in that Shakespearean film and didn’t even bother to try to act was pretty choice, too.

This whole blog is dedicated to Meredith Legg-Grady. The whole thing. Not just this post. That way it makes up for the posts that only contain a few lines of text and a video. 😉

6 thoughts on “30 Days of No Fast Food.

    1. YOU ARE WELCOME. I had a nice video lined up for today but since you requested otherwise.. 🙂

      (Thanks, also. Please get the couch ready for my arrival. I can’t take this snow nonsense.)

  1. Great job on going a month without fast food crapola. That was pretty much the experience I had when I laid off diet soda for a month: after that long, I enjoyed the powerful feeling of being able to say “no” more than I wanted a can of pop. There really is some pretty compelling evidence of how addictive the fat, sugar and salt of fast food (and other heavily processed foods) can be. My advice: don’t let your sister be a handy excuse to get drug back into that pit.

    1. Thanks.
      I went without pop (that’s what it’s REALLY called. Soda? Pfft.) for an entire year in 2009. I wish I would have stuck with that. I’m re-addicted to Diet Coke. It’s bad.

      Handy excuses are my favorite kind 😦 I really don’t WANT any fast food. It’s shocking. I used to eat upwards of 100 nuggets a week. No joke. I can’t believe I went this long. Here’s to another month, I suppose.

Leave a reply:

