Uncategorized

Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 Review. Sorta.

Truth.

I’ve had Ripped in 30 for, eh, what? Five days or so?

I’ve done the first weeks workout one and a half times.

Shit’s hard. Real hard.

I’m actually pretty impressed with her warm up section. I’m a bit of a workout dvd aficionado and I’ve never seen some of these moves in a warm up (or on a dvd at all, really.) I think my favorite one, if I really have a favorite, would be as follows:

Raise your arms above your head. Touch your toes. Squat your ass down. Put your arms up. Stand up.

Sounds simple, but when you’re pushing 300, it’s pretty killer. I’ve been doing ten of these every morning when I wake up. My legs have not stopped hurting in a week. It’s wonderful.

I love that the strength circuits have three moves in them. I feel like 30 Day Shred is so brutal because you’re doing the same two things for a minute and a half. The squat-press thing on this dvd is still super tough, but way more tolerable. I also feel like I can do way more of them at a better intensity when it’s 30 seconds a pop (Three moves, twice.) Overall, I love-love-love the strength part of the first week.

The cardio part frustrates me. It starts off with quick step things. I don’t know what they’re called, but they’re those things you always see football teams doing in movies when they’re working out. Kind of halfway squated, taking super-quick steps in place? Yeah. Those. See, my problem here is that I’m, again, nearly 300lbs and my house is old. Steps like that can potentially cause some damage. I am not even being sarcastic here. We’ve had a fear that someone is going to be up in this living room one day and knock down the ceiling fan in the kitchen below. You can just be walking ultra-softly through this room and it sounds like elephants downstairs. It’s really hard to do this move without thinking about how I’m going to break my house.

Still, I like the cardio better than I like it on 30ds. Two moves done twice is better than two minutes done once each. (I could be mixing up my dvds here — 30ds may split them, too. It’s been awhile.)

Abs? Brutal. Not nearly as brutal as Roller Derby Workout, though. I was sore for almost a full week after doing their ab workout once.

I can do the 30 Day Shred like a freaking pro compared to this thing. I stopped after the first part of circuit two tonight. I just ate a shitload of Subway (shitload = 1 footlong, if you’re wondering) and exerting myself to that extent wasn’t smart. I threw up a little. I’m still a bit twitchy from it.

The rest of the circuits are just as good. It’s just been awhile since I did them so I can’t remember specifics. The first part of strength on circuit two has to do with kettlebell swings, which are my favorites.

Overall, so far, at least, I’d give this one 5/5. It’s tough and Jillian isn’t ultra annoying, which is a total plus.

Oh, also, there’s a meal plan that comes with purchase of the dvd. It’s really just a website with a really easy to guess url. I’m not impressed with it. I don’t want to ever eat cottage cheese. Ever. Sorry, Jillian. I do appreciate the end of it with the recipes. I can always use a good recipe for “2 eggs and toast.” Basically, it’s pretty doable but I wouldn’t want to do it for my whole life.

So. There’s that review. I still owe the Roller Derby Workout girls a review. Their dvd is TOUGH. Crazy tough. I haven’t managed to do it all in one sitting, which is why I haven’t done a review yet. If you really want a good workout, though, you should look into their dvd. Or just derby in general. If I could skate, I’d totally do it.

Also, I still need to get my hands on The Situation’s dvd. It would be the best day of my life.

In other news, I’ve decided one of my weight loss/fitness goals is to be able to stand up without using my hands. From a sitting position. Not a kneeling one.

Side story: I was once in a HORRIFIC, terrible, rotten, no good, wtf was I thinking Christian play. There’s this opening scene where we all have to, like, try to stone Jesus, then kneel down, then jump back up and run when he comes back to life or something like that. We’d practice that scene 100,000,024 times a day and, by the end of the day, the top of my foot would be totally, completely raw from the way I had to get up from a kneeling position. I wasn’t strong enough to lift myself up onto my back foot and jump up from a kneeling position. I can do that now.

And I’ll never let a psycho-pastor guilt trip me into being part of such a shitty representation of Christianity again.

One thought on “Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 Review. Sorta.

  1. I am going to start the “Ripped in 30” program tomorrow. I am seriously scared! And I agree, the meal plan really isn’t that impressive. I will probably use something from old Weight Watchers. Anyway, thanks for the review! 🙂

Leave a reply:

