Uncategorized

Fat Girl goes to the gym 2: Electric Boogaloo

I joined a gym last week. A lovely 24/7/365 gym that accommodates me and my outrageous 3-11 work schedule. So far, it’s been pretty fantastic. As I mentioned the last time I went to the gym, which was almost a year ago, I thought I was going to be really intimidated and revert back to my high school self and be the quiet fat girl in the corner who tries not to draw attention to herself.

False.

First order of business was a nice jog on the treadmill right between two handsome young men. 300 pounds of woman is about near enough to break a treadmill just walking on it. I was watching Michael Scott’s last day at Dunder-Mifflin, which rendered me too busy to care about how much I was shaking the world.

I ended up taking the weekend off from gyming because I am the only person alive who can manage to get a blister on top of a blister on top of a blister. That’s a thrice blister, folks. It’s an impressive skill to have, I know. Tonight I showed up some Alec Baldwin lookalike on the treadmill and the elliptical. I don’t play around.

I found out this weekend that I’ve basically been dehydrated for the past week. I attempted to do the whole “half your weight in ounces” thing for water. 155 ounces is a hard thing to do. I mean, really. You should try it some time. I ended up downing about 83 ounces of ice cold water* before I left work. Almost there!

Oh, and an update on my financial stuff, since it’s been awhile since I did that:

I paid off my Old Navy credit card. It took me two months to pay off $700. I still have Chase and Discover to go and I will be done with consumer debt. Exciting, right? Right. I currently have all but one student loan in deferment. I will weep the day they no longer let me do that.

And just a reminder — I totally have a Facebook for this blog. Whenever I get to 100 likes, I have a special spectacular giveaway planned, so get your friends to like it, then wait and be that 100th person! Or just wait for the 100th person to like it and hope that maybe, just maybe I post a giveaway here for everybody. Your call, Batman.

 

*

2 thoughts on “Fat Girl goes to the gym 2: Electric Boogaloo

  1. That schedule is killer. Sleeping till like 12, going to work, then being up till like 5 just to be able to maintain some kind of 18-ish hour day – but all of the day is gone, of course.

    And all that fast food is so very, very close by. Yeah. I feel you. Got to the point where even Judge God Damn Judy was basically a lullaby – drifting off to sleep to the dulcet tones of a pissed of New Yorker with a power complex.

    [p.s. cool blog idea. Props to you on the effort.]

    1. I’ve been sleeping from 3-10 lately. Being half-nocturnal is a strange thing.

      I never, ever, thought I’d say it, but I miss Judge Judy. I’ve been captioning almost solely UFC and soap operas for what feels like months now.

Leave a reply:

