Uncategorized

This is the year.

So far in 2012, I’ve lost power for 10+ hours, nearly died on snow-covered roads, cried on my supervisors’ voicemail because I nearly died on snow-covered roads, broke up with my boyfriend, and ate half a sleeve of Lyons biscuits.

So far, so good.

I had an entirely different direction I was going in this post, but my mother just happened to tell my aunt that “Yeah, I think we’re going to watch Biggest Loser and maybe walk or workout while we’re doing that. This is the year Sierra and I get thin.”

I’m offended by that. This is not the year I get thin.

This is the year I cut out the crappy processed foods for good, the soda for good, not because I want to lose weight, but because I feel like shit when I consume them.

This is the year I run a full mile or run a 5k or, fuck, just run, not because I want to lose weight, but because I don’t want to end up immobile.

This is the year I stop biting my tongue when my friends start talking about how they have to diet and lose weight in order to be happy, successful, or find a man because they are beautiful and worthy and wonderful no matter if they weigh 120 or 320 pounds.

My main objective in life is not to be thin. It’s not to wear a size 2 or look like anyone else. Yours shouldn’t be, either. Not everyone has the genetics to be thin. Sometimes it’s just not possible. Do not believe what the media (or fucking Pinterest) tells you.

Recently, I posted this quote from Adele on Pinterest:

“I love food and hate exercise. I don’t have time to work out. I don’t want to be on the cover of Playboy of Vogue. I want to be on the cover of Rolling Stone or Q. I’m not a trend-setter. I’m a singer. I’d rather weigh a ton and make an amazing album than look like Nicole Richie and do a shit album. My aim in life is to never be skinny.”

One of my friends said the following (proper punctuation mine):
“Love her, hate this quote. Being skinny isnt everything. Being healthy is. Weighing a “ton,”  not exercising, and smoking is only gonna get you in the ground a little sooner.”

Know what else is going to get you in the ground a little sooner? Driving a car, flying in airplane, walking outside, taking a shower, and just about anything else you can think of. I directed her to Kate Hardin’s brilliant blog entitled “Don’t You Realize Fat Is Unhealthy?” I’m going to do the same for you. Read it.

This is the year to stop hating yourself because of how you look and embrace your fat, freckles, crooked teeth, and whatever. You only have one body. Love it.

4 thoughts on “This is the year.

  1. I’m glad to hear you set the standards high this year; I think we all need positive goals, like losing weight, to set for the next year and on as well. As long as you got a list together then you’re already on the right track.Hope you had a great new year’s day and I look forward to reading more:))

    jonwatersauthor.wordpress.com

Leave a reply:

