Uncategorized

Let’s talk about teeth.

I have terribly crooked teeth. I’ve had them my entire life. Because I enjoy stereotyping, I like to blame my British ancestry. When my sister was very little, I bit my arm and cried and told my mother that Melina bit me. 1. I don’t think Melina even had teeth yet. 2. My front two teeth basically made an X when I bit anything.

I have a great fear of dentists. My very first visit to one was when I was relatively young and I needed a filling. Terrifying. We made the rounds through various dentists that specialized in children’s teeth. I particularly remember one hygienist handing me a toothbrush and standing me in front of a mirror so she could watch me. She kind of scoffed and told me that I don’t know what I’m doing. I had to hold back tears because tough girls don’t cry, even when an adult makes them feel bad.

I ended up going to a dentist near my home for years. Maybe ages 12-20ish. He was great and never hurt me, even when he pulled one of my teeth. It didn’t help my anxiety, though. I basically hyperventilate until I’m in the chair, and then I just sit there shaking with sweaty hands for pain that doesn’t really come. Except one time. He took on a partner who gave me a filling and hurt me SO BADLY. Then at the end of it all, she told me I was going to need a root canal, anyway, so that was pointless.

I had really, really bad self esteem almost the entire time I was growing up. I didn’t take care of my teeth. I barely even brushed them in high school. It was bad news.

I went to one of those newfangled dental spas (TVs! Waterfalls! SEDATION!) today for a cleaning that was about three years overdue. My teeth that I thought were forever stained because of coffee and tea and not brushing? They’re not stained at all! My teeth were just that gross. No matter how often and well I brushed, I could never get those bad boys cleaned. I just needed a pokey stick! Thankfully, I only need two root canals, one being the one that the terrible dentist filled, and a filling. Being the optimist I am, I expected to have no less than 13 cavities and possibly half of my teeth removed.

I’ve been looking into getting braces because the novelty of my snaggletooth has worn off. The dentist recommended just getting my front four teeth capped instead of braces, which would end up with me being creepy 32-year-old braces woman.

I’m going tomorrow to start my teeth whitening. In twoish weeks, they’ll sedate me, canal those roots, fill that cavity, and cap my teeth. All in the same day.

I’m going to have straight teeth for the first time in my life.

It’s going to cost about $4,300, but I think it’s going to be way worth it.

It’s been a long process of bettering myself, conquering my fears, and making my life better. Going to the dentist today was such a big step for me. Please be proud, blog.

PS. I turned 27 yesterday and it was one of the best days ever.

9 thoughts on “Let’s talk about teeth.

  1. Happy belated birthday! Way to go conquering your fears and seeing a dentist! But what’s wrong with having braces? I know it’s not ideal as an adult, but people do it. My friend is about to turn forty and just has hers removed. She’s finally happy with her smile. πŸ™‚

    1. The other reason I’m choosing caps over braces is that braces would end up costing about $3k more, and I definitely don’t have that. Plus, it’ll only hurt for days as opposed to every month or so when I’d have to get them tightened or whatever. πŸ™‚

  2. I am so with you on this one! I went through many years fighting depression and one of the unfortunate aspects of that was a pretty serious lack of personal hygiene (I never brushed my teeth and drank soda all the time!) so Im paying for that now. Literally. My family is already cursed with bad teeth to begin with so Im really in a crappy spot. I’ve had a bit of work already but I think this winter I’m going to do the same and just find a place where they will knock me out and get it all done at once so I can be done with it and move on with my life. Im terrified of the dentist and would probably bring a bottle of wine to every appointment if i could. : ) Definitely wish I had been more responsible when I was young but one things for sure, my kids are going to have perfect pearly white teeth if it kills me! Haha Just wanted to thank you for sharing!

    1. You can come to my dentist! I’m sure that’s really convenient for you and everything! haha. But seriously. Finding a sedation dentist, especially one who isn’t an asshole, was the best thing I’ve ever done. My insurance doesn’t cover the sedation part, though. It’s like $250 for it, but I think it’s way worth it.

Leave a reply:

