Uncategorized

Whole 30 things.

True story: I wrote a blog in my sleep a week or so ago. It’s in my notes in my phone. It includes things like, “Can we talk about how pepperoni-wrapped pineapple is food?” and “I have 10 pairs of owl jimjams.”

Anyway.

I’ve been reading about this Whole 30 thing for the past couple of days, and after reading (most of) the book, I’m starting it for January. I know. But I would have started it December 1st if I had read about it in November, so stop.

Quick and dirty: Strict paleo for a month in order to reset your body and heal it from the inside out. No sugar, dairy, legumes, alcohol, or grains. Yes meats, seafood, eggs, vegetables, fruit, nuts, and healthy fats. Which is completely not vegetarianism, so ignore my last blog, okay?

It sounds like a diet, but it’s really not. It’s just for 30 days (they even tell you not to try it forever) and a fantastic way to figure out what you shouldn’t be consuming. Like, for example, I’ve been pretty certain about a gluten insensitivity for a couple of years now, but I’m crazy about bread. I’m also lactose intolerant and have been since I was in 6th grade, and my digestive system is just all over screwed up. On top of that, my skin has gone crazy in the past few months, I live in a perpetual brain fog, my sleep quality just sucks, and I’ve gone from having one migraine every six months or so to having a couple a week. So, I’m doing this to fix myself. (Though, I’m positive some of my brain fog and headaches comes from literally watching TV all day long. There’s something in the whole “It’ll rot your brain” thing. I swear. I should get hazard pay.)

What I really love about this is that they are adamant about not weighing yourself, not taking your measurements, and that this is not a weight loss program, but a wellness program. There is no way I would do this if the point was to lose weight, because diets just don’t work. And make me crazy.

At the end of the 30 days, you can start (slowly) reintroducing things back into your diet. Or not. It’s up to you. I’m already pretty sold on scrambling eggs in coconut oil. I can’t believe I didn’t think of that sooner. Seriously. Try it. It’s amazing.

I’ve been reading tons and tons of blogs from people who have already done this before, and it looks like everyone is generally athletic and skinny Β to begin with, so the fatosphere needs a representative, and it might as well be me, right? Right.

If you want to join me, I’m starting January 2nd, since the 1st is a holiday and there are 31 days in the month. There’s more info here. And here’s some other links.

The Whole 30 Resources page

Bartley’s Run Whole 30 Tips

30 Reasons to do Whole 30

Whole 30 in a Nutshell

Whole 30 Eating Log

Also, I’ve been watching High School Musical since I started writing this and I forgot how much I love this movie. How much is that? SO MUCH. Everybody loves a good jazz square. And I’ve definitely said, “I-I bake…if that helps” in stressful situations. I need to stop before I embarrass myself with my love for HSM.

The

4 thoughts on “Whole 30 things.

  1. OMG! I totally love High School Musical, too. Like… the soundtrack is on my running playlist. That’s pretty lame, right?!

    Best wishes for an awesome Whole30. Thanks for the shout out to my blog!

    1. Pfft. Not lame at all! I have a couple of the songs on my playlist, too!

      And you’re welcome! I also just got both Well Feds and I’m obsessed with the chocolate chili. πŸ˜€

  2. Oh WOW. I feel so honored to be joining a celeb like *the* Melissa Joulwan in your helpful resources list — so thanks for the shout!

    Were you watching HSM on The Disney Channel the other night?! ‘Cause…. me too. πŸ™‚

    You’re off to a great start. You got this!

Leave a reply:

