Uncategorized

Whole 30 Wrap-up.

First: Apologies to Facebook friends, because I haven’t shut up about this damn thing since I started it, and I’m going to post this blog in just a second, so you’ll be seeing this as the preview.

Okay.

So, I did it. I finished the Whole 30. 30 days without the three best friends that anyone could have (grains, sugar, and dairy) and other things I don’t generally partake in anyway (legumes/beans, alcohol). How am I feeling?

Bloated and sick.

Why? Because I decided this weekend would be a free-for-all and ate so much nonsense. Chipotle, pizza, pretzel dessert, and a bowl of cornflakes I’ve been craving for weeks.

Yeah. I didn’t take the reintroduction phase too seriously. Ugh. Wish I would have. But other than that, I had a really fantastic month. I was more awake and alert, my skin was phenomenal, I was rarely hungry, and I lost enough inches that I could fit into an entirely new (well, old) segment of my closet that I haven’t been able to wear for months.

Official numbers:

-17 pounds.
-17.5 inches.
-2 dress sizes.

Holy crap, right? I never even lost that much on the three (total) years I was on Weight Watchers.

It wasn’t an easy month, but it wasn’t the hardest thing ever. I was very rarely hungry (except that one time when I forgot my lunch at home and I was so hungry at work that my hands were sweaty. My hands are never sweaty.) My biggest issue with the program is that they seem to have something against just enjoying food for what it is. And I really love food. The hardest part for me ended up being drinking my coffee black, which is something I did for years until I started frequenting Starbucks regularly when I started captioning. Starting the third week of this, though, I found myself drinking it without even making an involuntary face like I was before, so that was cool. Pro tip: If it’s too much for you, drink it black over ice. Seriously. I don’t know why, but that helps so much.

So, what’s next?

I’ve decided to do one each month until I’m feeling 100% healthy. Or at least 90%. No actual weight goal. I’ve done a lot of thinking about my philosophy of fat acceptance/self-acceptance, and I believe the best thing I can do for myself right now is lose weight and get into some sort of shape. I certainly don’t want to be a size 0, but I do want to be able to run races and hike crazy trails and do stuff like that. The amount of energy I had in January was outstanding. So, Whole 30 every month, then one day (not a whole weekend like this time, because I seriously feel so terrible right now) where I can eat one thing I’ve been craving like mad.

Oh, I’ve also joined a dietbet for February. I need to lose 12.6 pounds. I have 9 left to go. The pot is currently $150,000+ and I’m just really hoping I’m the only one who loses the whole 4% because I need to pay off my loans.

So, in summary, loved the Whole 30, going to do it again, body-acceptance includes losing weight, and I’m poor.

I DID.
I DID.
3 thoughts on “Whole 30 Wrap-up.

  1. Awesome work! Like I said I just finished too, and after one day of doing good reintroduction I face planted into a pile of cruddy food and have been paying for it. It really is amazing how different you can feel post-meal. Light and energized or bloated, heavy and lethargic. It’s a wonder why crappy food has such a hold on us.

  2. Wowza. Sierra, that is amazing and I am so in awe of you and anyone that can do this. I would love to hear about your meals and how you stuck with the plan. I’ve thought about it but it seems so hard!

Leave a reply:

